Light and Water

Shrewsbury lights up

 

Shrewsbury’s late-night shopping started on Wednesday night, with the switching-on of the town’s Christmas lights. Now the three green-plastic trees strung across the road outside my window are full of twinkly little blue-white lights. I didn’t go to the Square to see the lights turned on, but I did start making my Christmas cards – choosing and printing-out the pictures.

Car park and cricket club

On Thursday I had my first day off work this week, and the sun shone for much of the morning. So I took my camera down to the Welsh Bridge and Frankwell to look at the river level before I went on to do my shopping.

Prepared for trouble

The Severn is over its banks and spread out across the cricket pitch and part of a car park, but the flood barriers are doing their job, and emergency preparations are in place. We’ve seen much worse than this in Shropshire in many recent years.

With a bit of sunshine on it, the flood water looked quite pretty.

Trees in the water

Leave a Reply

