A Fairly Positive Update

 I apologise for the delay in updating this blog. On the Sunday before Easter, my mother was rushed to hospital in Hereford with breathing difficulties. The last three weeks have been rather frantic. At first, Mum was in the emergency ward and we were wondering if she would last until my sister came up to see her on the Thursday. She did. A few days later, she’d rallied a bit, and was transferred to a medical ward. Now she’s made more progress and has been transferred from Hereford County Hospital to Ludlow Community Hospital – much nearer her home in South Shropshire, to a ward with a very pleasant, friendly atmosphere and caring staff. They are trying to build up her strength and recover some mobility. She’s still on oxygen to help her breathing, but she’s looking much better. Life is a little less fraught again.

It takes me as long to get to Ludlow on the country bus as it takes to do the 50-mile trip to Hereford on the train, but it doesn’t cost much and it’s an entertaining journey with several long detours from the main A49 along narrow, winding roads into little towns and villages, with frequent stops to let people on and off, and manoevers to pass other vehicles. All this in the lovely South Shropshire hill country in springtime. (I could go to Ludlow by train in half the time, but at more than twice the fare.) So I’ve been travelling to and from hospitals and dealing with all the various problems arising rather than doing much else outside of work.

One of the delights of the season: Balwen Black Welsh Mountain lambs - with their black and white markings, they look like a cross between the sheep and the sheepdog.

One other thing that I have been doing is working on a forthcoming exhibtion at Shrewsbury Museum – this is of writing inspired by items in the museum collection. I’ve been helping Adrian Perks, the curator of it, to prepare the written material for display and create the object labels; we are also producing a small booklet with the same material. It is something I’ve never done before, and has proved quite an interesting challenge.

The Elizabethan-inspired embroidery test piece of my last blog post is progressing slowly. I am about two-thirds of the way through now, and having fun making little strawberries with corded buttonhole stitch. This isn’t something that I can do while sitting on the bus to Ludlow, it’s too fiddly, so I am also making another one of my stitched boxes. These are ideal for travelling: portable and easy to see. So long as the bus is not too crowded, I can make good progress on a box as we judder and twist through Condover and All Stretton, Leebotwood, Wistanstow and Onibury.

4 Responses to “A Fairly Positive Update”

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your Mum. Best of luck continuing with your test piece, and enjoying Elizabethan Stitches 🙂

  2. Your mom must be very happy to have such a good daughter. I hope her recovery continues till she is back to herself.

    And, we are very lucky to have you tell us about your journeys to visit her. I read your place names–and look them up to find more about where you are and what you are seeing. A nice benefit for me.

  3. Hi Sue,
    Having spotted your interest in the Bristol Orphanages sampers on Flickr, have you seen today’s post on Needleprint? http://needleprint.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/bed-numbers-reversed-ns-all-wonder-of.html
    (beware, you are now on my radar of known interests, and subject to getting random notifications of things that I find that are within your interest area mwa-ha-ha-ha)

    • suetortoise Says:

      Oh, thank you very much for that link. I went through to look at the archive of photos of the orphanage. Fascinating. How well those samplers portray the feel of the place.

Leave a Reply

