Woven Diamond Stitch – Star Variation

Firstly, a big hello and welcome to the people who have visited thanks to Mary Corbet’s kind mention of my previous post on her blog, Needle’n’Thread. (If you’re reading this and you like embroidery and don’t already know about Needle’n’Thread – go and see what a treat you’ve been missing!) I hope you’ll find your visit to Tortoise Loft worth the journey. Don’t be shy to join in the comments if you have something to say, or want to ask a question. This post is a follow-on from the previous post, and assumes you’ve read that first.

woven diamond var star in progress

Here’s a slight variation of Woven Diamond Stitch that does not seem to be shown in Mordvalaisten pukuja kuoseja, but it’s a very obvious development. I call this ‘Star Variation’. Just a slight change in the spacing, but how different from the original version: more open and much livelier.

woven diamond star chart

As you’ll see from the chart, the only difference is that the four stitches that make the central square are worked over four threads, instead of six threads. The order and the method of working are exactly the same. I suggest you work Woven Diamond Stitch first, before you try the Star Variation, the chart with instructions is here.

This variation gives a much more interesting unit for building up patterns. WDSvS further progressJust like the basic Woven Diamond Stitch, it works up pretty quickly. I found trying out arrangements of the stitch units became very addictive. My stitch sample kept growing, and growing – I only stopped when I ran out of the golden-brown rayon thread that I was using!

This stitch says ‘table linen’ to me – what do you think?

 

 

7 Responses to “Woven Diamond Stitch – Star Variation”

  1. Or a pattern across the yoke of a blouse, or along the hem of a skirt…
    It would fit around the edges of a square edged bolero-type jacket or waistcoat, too!

    • suetortoise Says:

      You could arrange the units to make bold patterns to fit lots of things. It might look rather fine on a jacket front, with or without a matching skirt band.

  2. I love the star variation Sue, I think I’ll be adding this one to my stitch repertoire. I’m definitely thinking quick to stitch up frames/borders for ornaments maybe.

  3. Tuppenny Says:

    The stitch would also work as filling for a framing design. With some beading or sparklies added.

    • suetortoise Says:

      That Textilis blog looks interesting, thank you. I must read some of Viveka Hansen’s other posts. I already have a download of Gammal Allmogeslöjd från Malmöhuslän, which is fascinating but has frustratingly-unclear detail photos – well, the book is 100 years old! So I was pleased to see a modern close-up of a strip of very similar cut work. That will be helpful to me, although the rest of this particular post covers techniques that I am already familiar with.

Leave a Reply

