And Back Again…

Well, I’ve been home for a whole week and I’m wishing I was still in Australia.

It was a good holiday, although the weather could have been kinder to us. It was great to meet up with KRin again at the Hopetoun Tea Rooms in Melbourne, and go with her to L’Uccello, The Kimono House and Maria’s Beads and Trims. When Kevon and I returned from a few days in Hobart, I got to meet Megan for the first time, in her brand new flat. I enjoyed seeing the originals of embroideries on her Emsley Rose blog and met Tommy the cat. Thanks for the Anzac biscuits, Megan, they were smashing!

cake-spotting

KRin and I choosing cakes at the Tea Rooms

Also on the needlework theme, I went to the excellent Annemieke Mein exhibition at Brighton Town Hall, and an equally wonderful quilt exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria. Add in a fair bit of sightseeing, visits to friends, great meals, fresh air and exercise and you can guess that I have come home very happy.

I’ll write a little more about the holiday once I’ve got my photos edited and my thoughts in order. This may take a while as I’m busy getting pictures ready for the annual art show at Novacon next month. I’m currently inspired by 19th century printers’ ornaments. Here’s a sample of what I’m doing:

strictly-veg-mini

5 Responses to “And Back Again…”

  1. Megan Hodges Says:

    It was so lovely to meet you Sue 🙂 🙂 🙂 and so glad that you were able to see so many high points of Melbourne’s “embroidery scene”. The afternoon tea for Annemeike Mein was sold out (not unexpectedly) but I am looking forward to seeing the exhibition.
    I love your drawing – very much the what I’m into

    • suetortoise Says:

      Yes, I am so pleased we got to meet in the end – I was so looking forward to that. (And I got the fun of seeing your new place and walking through West Footscray festooned with flags and bunting for the Bulldogs AFL match.)
      The Annemeike Mein exhibition has a modest number of finished works but has a lot of preparatory pieces and samples, as well as several videos showing the progress of her work in great detail – very informative viewing (and a good chance for a sit down). And it’s free, which is an added bonus!

  2. It does take a while for everything from a trip like that to sink in. Good to know you had such a great time!

Leave a Reply

